Become a Member


Nebraska Youth Range Camp

Nebraska Range Judging




Nebraska Section Meeting


Links of Interest



Curtis Talbot, Section Awards Chair

It’s not too early to begin thinking about nominations for the Nebraska Section awards. As you likely know, the Section sponsors three annual awards. The first is the Rangeman’s Award, which recognizes ranchers for outstanding success in management and improvement of Nebraska rangeland resources.  The recipient need not be a member of the SRM (although we’ll try hard to convince them J), may be a man, woman, or group, and must not have received this award within the previous six years.  The second award is the Range Management Service Award, which recognizes professionals for outstanding services in the development and use of Nebraska rangeland resources.  This award is reserved specifically for members of the Section. The third is the Outstanding Young Range Professional Award, which may be presented to those members who are 40 years of age or younger and are contributing significantly to the range profession in Nebraska; this award is intended to encourage further involvement and commitment to the profession as the recipient’s career develops; those receiving the NE Section award may be forwarded to the parent society for the international award of the same name.

In addition to the Section awards, Section members are also eligible for recognition at the parent society level.  These awards include (with a short description from the SRM webpage):

Frederic G. Renner Award:  The premier Society award requires SRM membership and sustained accomplishments or contributions to range management during the last ten years.

W.R. Chapline Land Stewardship Award:  Requires SRM membership and effective maintenance or improvement of range resources with lasting efforts.

W.R. Chapline Research Award:  Requires SRM membership and exceptional and sustained research accomplishments related to rangelands.

Sustained Lifetime Achievement Award:  Designed to recognize SRM members for long-term contributions to SRM and range management.  Requires tangible evidence of outstanding lifetime contributions to the art and science of range management and continued SRM involvement at both the Section and Society levels.

Outstanding Achievement Award:  SRM membership not required.  Awarded for outstanding achievement (eminently noteworthy) in any range management-related area.  Organizations (e.g., agencies, commodity groups) are not eligible for this award.  Teams, whose accomplishments are individually inseparable, are eligible.

Outstanding Young Range Professional Award:  Requires SRM membership and recognizes superior performance and leadership potential in any range-related area.  Nominee must be less than 40 years of age on January 1st of the year the award is conferred.

Fellow Award:  Requires SRM membership, continuous for at least ten years, in recognition of service and contributions to the Society.

Some have discussed nominations with me already, for which I’m appreciative.  In a few months, I’ll begin earnest solicitations, so be thinking of those who are worthy of the recognition that comes with these awards.


For Nebraska Section Awards:

Submit nominations to Curtis Talbot, , by June 1, 2013, with supporting materials (bio, letters of recommendation, etc.) by August 1, 2013.

For Parent Society Awards:

Instructions are posted at Expected deadline is April 30, 2013. If you would like assistance from the Section Awards Chair, please submit nominations to Curtis Talbot by January 1, 2013, with supporting materials by March 1, 2013. You may also submit awards on your own, directly to the Parent Society Awards Committee.


Website maintained by
~DKBB~ Web Sites & More